# EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTE OF SCOTLAND CLACKMANNANSHIRE LOCAL ASSOCIATION ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING 2009

Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting of Clackmannanshire Local Association of the Educational Institute of Scotland held in Alloa Academy 26th March2008

### 1:0 Constitution of Meeting

The President, Steve Barrett welcomed members and guests to the meeting.

## 2:0 Approval of the Order of Business

Approved

#### 3:0 Minutes of the ABM 2008

These were proposed by David Porter and seconded by Karen Farrell. The minutes were approved.

## 5:0 Reports

- 1. **The Secretary** verbally reported on the work of the Executive Committee throughout 2008. She outlined the main areas of consideration of the JCC, JTUC and LNCT
- 2. On behalf of the Treasurer the Secretary tabled a paper on behalf of the treasurer that:
- a. the **Audited Accounts were tabled** to August 2008. These were proposed by Eileen Turnbull and seconded by Karen Farrell then approved by the meeting.
  - b. the **Local Subscription** increase to £16.80 per month in line with a recommendation from Headquarters. This was proposed by Eileen Turnbull and seconded by Scott Murray and then was agreed by the meeting.
  - c. the **Honoraria** be increased by the rate of inflation. This was proposed by Wendy Cowan seconded by Lyn Hamilton and was agreed by the meeting.
  - d. BKR Haines Watts be retained as **Auditors.** This was proposed by Eileen Turnbull seconded by Steve Barrett and agreed by the meeting.
    - e. Donations

It was:

- proposed by Rosie Dempster on behalf of the Executive Committee that £300 be made to the EIS Benevolent Committee. This was seconded by Lyn Hamilton.
- proposed by Wendy Cowan on behalf of the Executive Committee to donate £100 to the Community House in Alloa. This was seconded by Steve Barrett.
- proposed by Scott Murray on behalf of the Executive Committee to donate £100 to Invisible Children, Northern Uganda. This was seconded by Eileen Turnbull.

These proposals were agreed by the meeting.

### **5:0** Constitutional Amendments

There were none

#### **6:0** Election Results

### **Local Association Executive Committee**

The following were elected unopposed.

President: David Porter

Secretary: Eileen Turnbull (Temporary until August 09)

Minutes Secretary: Karen Farrell
Treasurer: Thelma Dickie

Committee Members: R. Dempster, GHunter, W. Cowan,

MHall, L. Hamilton, CMcCarg, GJoyce,

# **Delegates to AGM 2009**

The following were elected unopposed.

Karen Farrell, Margaret Hall and Gavin Hunter

Secretary given powers to elect further reserves if required.

# 7:0 Installation of President for 2009/2010

David Porter was installed as President

#### 8:0 Motions to Local Association

None were received.

## 9:0 Vote of Thanks

David proposed a Vote of Thanks to the Steve Barrett for successfully chairing both this meeting and the meetings of the Executive Committee throughout the year and over the last few years.

**10.0 Next Meeting** 3rd of March 2010 Lornshill Academy **11.0 Meeting closed at 5.05pm** 

A short tour of the new facilities at Alloa Academy followed the close of the meeting.